top of page

My biggest challenge yet - Adynamia

Adynamia - this has become my biggest challenge since I started tutoring children with learning difficulties.

One of my students has Adynamia. This basically means a lack of motivation. You can have access to the best strategies, but if the student lacks the motivation to participate, it is very difficult to achieve any learning outcome.

There has been tiny successes here and there, with the help of some tips to help students with Adynamia; having a structure, alot of encouragement and patience, offering choices.

Another thing I learnt is to not take some of their choice of words seriously. They use them to protect themselves, and that is really what is important to them.

As I endeavour to help my student to achieve, I constantly tell myself to perservere because at the end of the day, as long as the student is able to learn, that in itself is the best reward.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page